If you’ve been following previous articles that I have posted, you might see that i recommend Lookout quite often. The free version of Lookout will provide protection against Viruses, Malware and Spyware. Although now there is a new feature that has been added recently to the free version of Lookout that will help identify the person that may have stolen your phone.
First off, the main features of Lookout:
- Protects your device against Viruses, Malware and Spyware in real time.
- Backup Contacts, Photos and Call History.
- Track your phone if it’s lost or stolen.
- Photograph the user after three unsucessful attempts to unlock the device.
- Lock the device remotely. (Premium)
- Remotely wipe user data. (Premium)
- Protects against malicious websites. (Premium)
- Informs the user regarding what apps are accessing certain personal info. (Premium)
So what is Lock Cam?
In the most recent Update to the free version of Lookout, the development team have added a new feature called “Lock Cam”. If a user incorrectly attempts to unlock the phone three times, Lock Cam will silently take a photo of the user then email the account linked to the Lookout profile with the photo of the suspect.
What if I don’t want to use Lock Cam?
If for some reason you would like to disable the Lock Cam feature, this can be easily activated or deactivated via Lookout’s settings menu.
Do you like this new addition to Lookout? tell us your thoughts in the comment section below.