Tuesday , August 22 2017

SnapChat adds location sharing feature ‘Snap Map’ – just be careful who you’re sharing your location with


SnapChat has today announced a new location sharing feature called Snap Map, which is designed to let your Snap Friends know where you are.

The feature plots your location on a world map, letting your Snap Friends see where you are when you’re out and about, or in fact where ever you are.Once your location is shared, once you open Snap Chat, your location at that time is updated and shared with any friends, and vice-versa if they choose to share their location, you can see their location on the Snap Map every time it updates.

We’ve built a whole new way to explore the world! See what’s happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure!

It’s easy to get started — just pinch to zoom out and view the Map! You decide if you want to share your location with friends, or simply keep it to yourself with Ghost Mode.

If your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map. Actionmojis only update when you open Snapchat.

We hope you enjoy the new Map as much as we do!

Happy Snapping!

Team Snap

The feature is off by default, but once you exit ‘Ghost Mode’, your location is potentially open to anyone you’re Snap Friends with. Why is this a problem? Well, I have only three ‘Snap Friends’, all of whom I know personally as I don’t tend to use Snap Chat. For a much younger or ‘hipper’ demographic who are using Snap Chat, the concept of building a following sees many people they don’t know being added to their roster of friends. That could lead to a lot of different people knowing where you are, and if you open Snap Chat at home, where you live.

If you’re using Snap Chat, you’ll see a prompt when launching the new Snap Map for the first time. To access Snap Map simply go to the camera and then use a pinch gesture.

Snap Chat on their support site says there’s three levels of sharing:

  • Only Me (Ghost Mode): Your location won’t be visible to anyone else on the Map. When you’re in Ghost Mode, your Bitmoji will hold up a blue sign with a spooky specter 👻
  • My Friends: Your location will be visible to all of your friends on the Map as long as you are mutual friends. This includes any new friends you make too! If you want to choose this option later, go to ‘Select Friends…,’ scroll down to ‘All Friends,’ and tap ‘✓ Select All.’
  • Select Friends…: Choose specific friends to share your location with. Friends you select won’t be notified that you chose them, but they’ll be able to see your location as long as you are mutual friends!

The best option, if you’re security conscious is of course the Only Me option, but if you limit to ‘Select Friends’ you can have a decent tool to use and meet up with friends who are out and about which is obviously what Snap Chat’s location sharing feature is meant for.

Like any location sharing feature, it’s a matter of knowing what’s going on before enabling it. If you’re a Snap Chat user, this could be great, just read those terms and conditions first.

Snapchat
Snapchat
Developer: Snap Inc
Price: Free+
 
Source: Snap Chat.

Daniel Tyson   Editor

Dan is a die-hard Android fan. Some might even call him a lunatic. He's been an Android user since Android was a thing, and if there's a phone that's run Android, chances are he owns it (his Nexus collection is second-to-none) or has used it.

Dan's dedication to Ausdroid is without question, and he has represented us at some of the biggest international events in our industry including Google I/O, Mobile World Congress, CES and IFA.

Join the Ausdroid Conversation

Be the First to Comment!

avatar
wpDiscuz

Check Also

LastPass releases a public beta with support for Android O’s autofill API

With the release of Android Oreo today, LastPass has been quick off the mark announcing …