Instagram has announced that Instagram users can now share a replay of their live videos on Instagram Stories.
The oft requested feature is now available, for Instagram users with an option to share your video once you have finished your broadcast. Once a broadcast is completed, a “Share” button at the bottom of the screen will let you add your replay to Instagram Stories for 24 hours.
If you weren’t happy with the Live Video and accidentally published it or want to simply delete the video, you can also tap the toggle and choose “Discard,” and your live video will disappear from the app as usual.
When someone you follow on Instagram shares a replay, you’ll see a play button under their profile photo in the stories bar. When you tap this button you will also see the comments and likes from the original broadcast. You are also able to tap the right or left side of the video/screen to go forward or rewind back 15 seconds, or tap “Send Message” to reply.
If an Instagram follower has multiple replay videos shared to their Instagram Stories, you’ll notice the arrows on top of the screen, which enable you to skip between each replayed video they’ve uploaded.
When watching your own replay, the number of viewers will include everyone who saw it both live and as an Instagram Story.
Instagram has stated that since it launched Live Video’s to its app features back in November last year (2016), millions of people have used it to ‘connect with friends and followers in an authentic way’. They say this new feature will let you share these experiences with even more people.
You can find the update in the latest version of Instagram, available on Google Play.