After revamping Gmail massively earlier this year, a new feature has finally cropped up on the mobile Android app which we’re surprised hasn’t arrived before – the ability to Undo a sent email.
The option to send an email and then recall it is now present in Gmail v8.7 though it’s likely being enabled by a server-side switch (at least one of my devices with 8.7 doesn’t have it). The support docs for the Gmail Android app now also noting you can Undo sending an email.
The prompt to ‘Undo’ when sending an email appears in the bar at the bottom of the screen, shortly after the email is sent. You get the usual ‘Sending’ with an option to cancel which is then replaced with a ‘Sent’ with an option in yellow to ‘Undo’. The Undo option stays there for around nine seconds before disappearing, but that’s for Gmail to Gmail, so your timing may vary depending on recipients.
If you’re a bit of a klutz and often think of something to add to an email, or simply regret sending one, then you’ll now have a small window to bring it on back. Check it out and see if you have it yourself.