After announcing the shutdown of their social network, Google+, last year after a bug potentially exposed user data last year, Google has today expanded on the shutdown timeline announcing the service will close for consumers on April 2nd, 2019.

The announcement was made by Product Manager, David Conway on the companies Keyword Blog, where he advised

Starting April 2, 2019, we will shut down your Google+ account and any pages you created, and we’ll begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. If you have Google+ content that you would like to save, you must do so before April 2nd.

The service will block creation of new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events from February 4th, if you were thinking of signing up to the service.

For anyone wanting to export their Google+ date, you can head over to the Google Support page which lists step by step how to download your information, photos, and anything else you uploaded to the service during its nearly 8 year run.

Source: Google Support.
Via: Google.
    5 Comments
    newest
    oldest most voted
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
    Stephen Woots
    Stephen Woots
    1 year ago

    so, best way to keep in touch with Ausdroid? Many sites have a ‘sign up for our email’ pop up forever in your face – can’t see one here ?

    Jeni Skunk
    Jeni Skunk
    Reply to  Stephen Woots
    1 year ago

    Ausdroid does have a Patreon. The link is in the upper right of every page.

    Russell
    Russell
    1 year ago

    their April 1st schedule was too packed to slip this in as well.

    Jeni Skunk
    Jeni Skunk
    1 year ago

    Dismissable banner now appearing at the top of pages on G+, warning of its pending closure.
    “Your Google+ account is going away on 2 April 2019. Learn more”
    The ‘Learn more’ link goes to
    https://support.google.com/plus/answer/9195133?hl=en_GB&authuser=0