In what seems to be a bit to rebuild the userbase, WhatsApp continues to add features and improve its platform. This time taking aim at bringing some Snapchat users over to the collective. The new feature, rolling out now, simply known as view once photos is pretty self-explanatory.
The concept behind implementing it though is well thought out, with a very common use explanation:
you might send a View Once photo of some new clothes you’re trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password.
While some of these may be items that you’d want to keep longer, but it’s certainly common to send and receive sensitive data on messaging platforms. The feature seems to already be widely available by pressing the button next to send prior to delivering your pictures. Once your message has been viewed, the image will disappear and show simply that it has been opened.
It’s a great step forward but is it enough to entice new users over?