Following a very brief testing period, the emoji reactions are rolling out to stable channel users. The update was announced by none other than Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg in a brief and somewhat unceremonious Facebook post.

Don’t panic if they’re not visible to you yet because it is a phased rollout. In the early stages of the new rollout, the number of emoji is pretty limited with only 6 available:

  • Thumbs-up
  • Laughing face
  • Crying face
  • A red heart
  • Surprised face
  • Praying hands

Along with other changes, the update brings WhatsApp into line with capabilities that other apps have had for some time. What further features would you like WhatsApp to add to its capabilities?