Ridesharing platform, DiDi has committed AUD $1million to assist Australians in attending their vaccination appointments.

The ‘DiDi Vaccinate’ service is designed to further assist Australians to gain access to the COVID-19 vaccine, with DiDi providing a 2x $10 discount voucher for a return trip to a vaccination centre.

The service is the first in Australia to assist all eligible vaccine recipients, providing discounted trips to and from vaccination hubs (including hubs, GPs and clinics), with under 40s now booking appointments in their spades after the PM’s announcement last week.

DiDi Australia Spokesperson, Dan Jordan, said:

“The recent lockdowns across the country, particularly in Sydney, has shown that Australia’s vaccination rollout needs to kick up a gear to avoid future snap lockdowns occurring”

“We’re happy to be able to play our part in supporting the vaccination drive as we are aware that not everyone has easy access to a vaccination hub, so we’re trying to make the process as easy as possible to support Australia’s full recovery from the pandemic.”

Dr Joshua Hurwitz, at Liverpool Hospital, said:

“I’m happy to see DiDi offering this initiative to support Australians. Supporting people to and from vaccination appointments is incredibly helpful for so many across the country. Especially, our disadvantaged and vulnerable communities who may not have easy and affordable transportation options to access their nearest vaccination centre.”

To redeem the DiDi Vaccinate vouchers (2 x trips per user, $10 cap each trip), riders need to download the DiDi app and complete a short questionnaire to gain access to the discounted DiDi Vaccinate trips.

DiDi Vaccinate will be available in all cities in which DiDi currently operates across Australia: Adelaide, Ballarat, Bendigo, Brisbane, Bunbury, Bundaberg, Busselton, Cairns, Canberra, Central Coast, Coffs Harbour, Geelong, Gladstone – Tannum Sands, Gold Coast, Hervey Bay, Mackay, Melbourne, Newcastle, Perth, Port Macquarie, Rockhampton, Shepparton, Sunshine Coast, Sydney, Toowoomba, Townsville, Wagga Wagga and Wollongong.